Skip to content

UpBeat Spiritual Living: Who is Smarter, Us or God?

July 26, 2012

© 2012 Kebba Buckley Button.  World Rights Reserved

Heavenly Skies
Photo by Kebba Buckley Button

Coincidence: do you really believe in it?  I invite you to challenge yourself, whenever you hear yourself say, “My, what a coincidence!”  It may be the Divine moving in mysterious ways.  Things often unfold differently than it appears they are going to.  This is one of those stories.

About 2 months ago, I got a summons to appear for jury duty in downtown Phoenix.  I work a lot of hours per week, and I didn’t really want to add jury duty to my overflowing To Do List.  It isn’t a long drive, and Phoenix cases aren’t usually more than 2 days, even if you are selected for a jury panel.  And I believe in doing my civic duty.  I could have checked one of several boxes to delay jury duty or get excused.  But mainly, I just knew I was supposed to go, no arguing.  Without directly praying about it, I knew I was supposed to go on that particular date.  My husband reasonably suggested I postpone or get excused, but I stuck with the idea of simply reporting as called.  And yes, part of my brain thought I was being a bit dumb.

So today is that day.  I’m writing during a break.  Things unfolded differently than I could have imagined.

I found the right parking garage and parked near the right elevator.  I noticed a woman getting out of a cream-colored PT Cruiser, which made me smile, because I drive a cream-colored PT Cruiser.  That woman, and a tall gentleman, arrived at my elevator at the same moment.  The gentleman held the elevator door for us.  We traded a few words about the weather and how grateful we were that it is cooler today.  Then we realized all three of us were headed for the Juror line at the Courts Building.  We continued to gently trade comments, which morphed into stories of extreme weather we had experienced in other regions.  It was so utterly wonder/full to be with two such pleasant people.  The woman told of being in New Hampshire as a youth.  When she was 14, a snowstorm covered the entire first floor of their home.  She and her father slipped out a second floor window, slid down a giant drift, and began to hunt for the front door.  The three of us cracked up, theorizing how you look for the front door when you can’t even see the corners of the house.  The woman said, you just start digging the snow away and do your best.  WOW.

The line began to move, and the jurors were processed in.  The three of us flowed to a back row and continued to share stories.  The gentleman was writing in an unusual way, and it turned out he had lost over half his right forefinger after a soldering burn and a medical, um, adventure.

The woman and I traded first names, and when she heard mine, she lit up and exclaimed, “I know you!  We worked together!” Oh. My. God.  Suzie and I had worked together in a State organization years ago.  I was illegally fired after some other incredible behavior by managers, so my stay there was only a few months.  It took me probably five years to stop feeling the hurt of being lied about, repeatedly set up for failure, and fired.

Now here was Suzie, greeting me joyfully!  Could this be “coincidence”?  Or was it “Godsidence”?

The managers who made sure I lost my job were people who lied, who ruined others’ reputations, and who had extramarital affairs.  Suzie has hung in there and has been promoted to a management position.  And I learned two very important things from reconnecting with her:  1) The negative managers and their “club” members have recently either resigned or moved to other areas of State employment. 2) I was very popular and well-regarded, and the staff were shocked when I was let go.  Suzie hopes hearing what has happened to my tormentors and detractors can help me feel better.  Oh yes!  And Suzie and I plan to have lunch soon.  Maybe we each have a new lifetime friend.

So what was the purpose of Heaven making it clear to me that I must go to jury duty *today*?  I don’t think it was about jury duty, do you?  If I thought, last week, that it was a useless exercise, then I was thinking with my human brain, my human consciousness.  But God knows much that we do not.  God has the bigger perspective in every way.

So who is smarter, us, or God?  So whose plan is better to follow?  Me, I’m going with the Big Guy, every time.

______________________________________

● Rev. Kebba Buckley Button is the author of the 2012 book, Peace Within:  Your Peaceful Inner Core.

● Your comments are welcome!

● Get these articles by email– just click the Subscribe Free option in the right column!

● Reach the writer at kebba@kebba.com .

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2012 2:25 PM

    loved this Kebba !! I belong to a program which calls this “God doing for me what I cannot do for myself.” So wonderful to hear other people’s stories of God’s gentle kindness ….thank you …

    • July 26, 2012 2:33 PM

      Mary, thank you so much for reading my piece and commenting. There is something very special about the connections today. You know, sometimes God is so gentle and so kind, that we can miss who set up a scene for our benefit. How long in advance did he work to put Suzie back in my life this way? I love it! Bless you, dear!

Leave a Reply

